Sima's Blog

tales from the life of a nomadic cyclist

Monday, March 20, 2006

Sequoia Classic Criterium Race Report

Colavita Cooking Light Race release
By Jim Williams

Today the gloves were dropped Canadian style as Laura Yoisten who resides north of the boarder and rides for the Victory Bbrewing won a hard fought battle with the Colavita Cooking Light team. A small field showed up to race the Visalia Criterium today with 8 riders for VictoryBrewing at the start line and 3 riders for Colavita Cooking Light along with several individual riders from several teams including Flecia Gomez from Webcor.

With both Victory and Colavita Cooking Light having teams present it became a battle royal. Victory Brewing wasted no time starting the action with the first attack coming just halfway through lap 1 of the 40 lap bike race. Each and every attack after was either covered by the Colavita Cooking Light riders or brought back through constant work on the front. A very dangerous move slipped away that contained both LauraYoisten and Katherine Carroll of Victory brewing and when they gained close to 20 seconds it looked as if the two would ride away and leave the rest of the field to fight over third placing on the day. The Colavita Cooking Light riders Sima Trapp, Audrey Lemieux and Sarah Tillotson would not give in and joined forces with Felicia Gomez of Webcor and the Touchstone duo of Pat Ross and India Sanjuan to bring theVictory girls back into the fold. With the group together again with 5 laps to go the attacks finally ended and the Victory train took over for an exciting sprint finish. Laura Yoisten sprinted for the win ahead of her teammate Laura Bowels with a tired Sarah Tillotson of Colavita Cooking Light sneaking in for 3rd. While the field was small, spectators on the street were impressed with the aggression and intensity of the racing.

Sequoia Classic Criterium Women Elite 1 / 2
1 Laura Yoisten (Victory Brewing)
2 Laura Bowles (Victory Brewing)
3 Sarah Tillotson (Colavita/Cooking Light)
4 Felicia Gomez (Webcor)
5 Katherine Carrol (Victory Brewing)
6 Audrey Lemieux (Colavta/Cooking Light)
7 Sima Trapp (Colavita Cooking Light)
8 Chrissy Ruiter (Victory Brewing)
9 Leigh Hobson (Victory Brewing)
10 India SanJuan (Touchstone)


Post a Comment

<< Home